Confidence

So I’ve been thinking a lot recently about inspiration for creativity – I’ve written a bit about it here too. I am incredibly self-conscious in everything I do, and constantly second guess myself. Good for some things, not for others. Being creative requires a certain amount of flow – it has to be natural, sometimes spontaneous, to be really good and that can be difficult if you’re worried about being wrong/silly. So today I finally had a bit of a day off, and got home from the shops, broke out the notebook, and wrote this based on my observations and experiences in the last hour:

 

rain darkens the sky

bruised purple, night closes in

I head for shelter

 

I really, really enjoy reflecting on something as mundane as popping out to the shops and hoping to get back before the rain starts – I’m happy with that little haiku.

I kept the notebook out and wrote a silly wee sentence because I was just in the mood for writing, and realised that  I had written it in exactly 17 syllables, without trying. I fear it may be time to stop second guessing myself.

 

Damn. I just ran out of wine, but it’s raining outside. Dilemma. Hmm.

 

2 thoughts on “Confidence

  1. I’ve been thinking about this a lot recently (in the past year). I’ve determined that living a life that aims to crush your creativity, or, to put it another way, generally live by the rules of a confined world, your creative spark dampens. Like now, during exam time; writing in such a pedantic legal format, I’m struggling to kick the creative clutch back into gear. Do you get this? Does law mess with your juice?

    • suzieblue85 says:

      It’s funny, I feel that way about my part time job, but not about studying law. I have a pretty mindless job that I consider my kryptonite, as being creative is actively discouraged. But I think studying law kind of requires a creative mind to understand how all-encompassing it is? At least, that’s what I used to tell myself during soul-destroying property law lectures…. I know what you mean about the writing though, there are so many rules. But I’ve always got much better marks when I’ve relaxed and tried to inject some personality rather than just repeat facts. And the concise nature of legal writing is good training for haikus!!

Leave a Reply

